I upload a package to pypi, but I got some trouble after upload, so I delete it completely, and I tried to re-upload, but there are some error after upload again:
HTTP Error 400: This filename has previously been used, you should use a different version.
error: HTTP Error 400: This filename has previously been used, you should use a different version.
It seems pypi can track the upload activity, I delete project and account and upload again, but I can see the previous record. Why?
How can I solve the problem?
In short, you cannot reupload a distribution with the same name due to stability reasons. Here you can read more about this issue at https://github.com/pypa/packaging-problems/issues/74.
You need to change the distribution’s file name, usually done by increasing the version number, and upload it again.
Yes you can reupload the package with same name.
I had faced similar issue what I did was increased the version number in
setup.py and delete the folders generated by running
python setup.py sdist i.e. dist and
your_package_name-egg.info and again run the commands
python setup.py sdist to make the package upload ready.
pypi tracks the repo from folder generated by
your_package_name-egg.info so you have to delete it.
If you are running your local pypi server then you can use
-o,--overwrite option which will allow overwriting existing package files.
pypi-server -p 8080 --overwrite ~/packages &
I also had the same problem and could not re-upload a package with the same version after deleting it from pypi, but the following solution worked for me.